The-Not-So-Experienced Baker — Olivia Parker

Posted on January 31, 2013

0



One day I got the marvelous idea to attempt (and I mean attempt) to make cake pops. See, cake pops are a new fad where a small ball of cake is on a stick. They are good for kids’ birthday parties and for those who want just a small taste of dessert. Starbucks has these salted caramel cake pops – chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, white chocolate decoration, caramel and sea salt. They are a favorite of many, so I thought that these would be a good, simple flavor to try.

So I followed the recipe as I read it…bake cake, crumble cake, mix in frosting, ball up cake, dip into melted chocolate. Simple, right? I seemed to think so. I did fine until the dip into chocolate part. Since I like to believe that I am an experienced baker, I knew that in order to melt chocolate without burning it, you need to use a double boiler. But, for some odd reason, I asked my Mom (a not experienced baker) the best way to melt the chocolate. She advised that I place a small pot filled with the chocolate chips inside of a larger pot of boiling water. Why I did not think it would burn, I still to this day do not know. But it did…instantly. And for those who do not know, once chocolate burns, there is no coming back. Annoyed, I threw the coagulated chocolate out and opened a new bag.

This time I thought I would try the microwave, because the microwave would not be as hot, right? Wrong! My chocolate came out of the microwave silky and beautiful, but instantly coagulated from overheating as I stirred it. Overly excited that my 2nd batch of chocolate burned, I tossed it and looked for a 3rd bag. Of course, we were out of chocolate. I now had to go to the grocery store late at night to finish these cake pops that I thought were a brilliantly simple idea.

After returning from the store, I tried for a 3rd time. This time I knew I could not screw up. I poured the chocolate into a CORRECT double boiler NOT touching the boiling water and turned the burner on low. I let the chocolate slowly melt to its silky smooth perfection and began dipping. Little did I know that the cake pops should be set in the fridge for some time to allow the cake to firm and be able to withstand the heat. So, as I dipped my first pop into the perfectly melted chocolate, it breaks in half, falling into the bowl of chocolate, leaving only the stick in my hand. This happened for half of my remaining cake pops, leaving the others sloppy and goopy looking.

At this point, I did not care. My simple cake pop recipe idea turned into an all night affair, leaving me annoyed and exhausted. All of my family who tasted the few surviving pops thought them to be delicious, but I was not convinced. Maybe next time I will do a little bit more research before believing myself to be such an experienced baker.

Salted Caramel Cake Pops Recipe:

1 Box Devil’s Food Cake Mix (follow recipe on back)

1 container of milk chocolate frosting

1 bag milk chocolate chips, melted (not burned!)

1 bag white chocolate chips

Caramel Sauce (Optional)

Sea Salt (Optional)

1. 1. Bake cake according to recipe on box and let cool

2. 2. Crumble cooled cake into small pieces; mix ½ of the frosting into the cake, forming a paste

3. 3. Form paste into balls, as large or small as you want; place on a cookie sheet

4. 4. Place cookie sheet in fridge for at least 1 hour, or freezer for 20 minutes (DO NOT FORGET THIS STEP OR YOUR CAKE POPS WILL FALL APART!)

5. 5. Melt (not burn) milk and dark chocolate using separate double boilers – NOTE: a double boiler is not a pot directly placed on boiling water. Pot with chocolate canNOT touch boiling water or it will burn

6. 6. Dip tip of cake pop stick in chocolate and then halfway into the cake pop

7. 7. Dip entire pop into melted (not burned) milk chocolate, followed by melted (not burned) milk chocolate

8. 8. Optional: drizzle caramel sauce over top of pop; sprinkle sea salt on top

9. 9. Let dry, and enjoy!

http://eatingwitholivia.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/the-not-so-experienced-baker/

Thanks!

Posted in: Student Posts