Chopped- Parmesan Goldfish, Heavy Whipping Cream, and Sriracha Sauce- Christina Bennett

Posted on January 30, 2013

0



“Now open your baskets… and there is…parmesan goldfish, heavy whipping cream and sriracha.” Although for the TV version of chopped there is a time limit to the preparation of each course, in my version there wasn’t a time limit and I only had one course to make. Well knowing that the only one to know if the dish turns out tasty or not was myself, it was still nerve racking. After receiving the ingredients on Monday from my lovely classmates, I immediately thought of the dish I was to make, excluding the sriracha since I had never heard of it before.

I went to the grocery store and after circling the isles I found the sriracha sauce and knew that I would need to take it home and try a bit to see what it tasted like. Once home I took a small bit on a spoon and tasted it… there was no taste but just spice from the pasty red sauce. I knew I would need to cut the spice with vinegar. I decided to create a sauce for a pounded, parmesan goldfish crusted fried chicken.

After pounding the chicken I whisked egg and the heavy whipping cream together to allow for the crushed goldfish mixed with some seasonings and parmesan cheese to enhance the cheese flavor allowing it to be more fresh then artificial. I then began heating a pan of oil to fry the chicken after dipping it into the egg and cream mixture and crusting it with the goldfish coating. To check if the oil was hot enough I sprinkled a couple drops of water over the oil to see if it crackled and popped. While the pan was heating with the vegetable oil I began to create the sriracha sauce. I mixed white vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, lime, and the spicy sriracha sauce.
Along with the main ingredients, composing the protein of the dish I ended up baking some butternut squash with olive oil, salt, pepper, and sage. I also made a salad with some avocado tomato and oil and vinegar dressing. I plated the dish and served it with a slice of lime on the brown crusted chicken.

http://lifeofafoody.wordpress.com/

Posted in: Student Posts