A Relationship Through Food–Jenn DaRosa

Posted on January 30, 2013

0



There is a special relationship formed when we are children with those who take care of us. It is not only a relationship of necessity but one of love and friendship. A lifelong bond comes out of a relationship like this. Usually this kind of relationship may exist with a family member. For me, I was lucky enough to have this relationship with my mom, who has also grown to become one of my best friends. What follows is the conversation we had about food in our relationship including what I ate (and refused to eat) as a child, how she grew up with food and her relationship with it now, and what she hopes for my future with food.

Me: What did I hate eating when I was younger? How did you deal with that?

Mom: Vegetables -tried to mix them in with other things or put cheese on broccoli, but not much success

Me: What did I love eating?

Mom: Pasta

Me: How has your relationship with food changed over the years?

Mom: I was raised in an Italian family that loved to eat. I started trying to eat healthier as I got into my 20’s and started exercising. Now I try to eat a very low fat healthy diet with whole grains, lean protein, fruits & vegetables.

Me: How did you start cooking? What made you want to start?

Mom: I used to watch my parents cook and learned a lot from them. As I got older I knew I better learn if I was ever going to cook for myself a family someday.

Me: What is your favorite meal to make?

Mom: Chicken Parmigiana, with salad or veggies.

Me: What did your parents cook?

Mom: Lots of pasta, steak, roasts & potatoes, salad & garlic bread.

Me: What are your favorite food memories of me growing up?

Mom: Watching you eat pasta with your hands when you were very little. You got the sauce everywhere!

Me: Why did you cook more than Dad?

Mom: When you kids were younger, I was home more at dinner time and dad was working later, and also I was home on weekends and dad worked.

Me: Is there a special food that reminds you of me?

Mom: Pasta & chocolate chip cookies.

Me: Did you cook for me or for yourself?

Mom: I tried to cook things that I knew you liked, and didn’t worry too much about my favorites

Me: What foods did you stop cooking once you started a family?

Mom: I tried not to make too many desserts.

Me: What do you hope I’ll cook when I have my own family?

Mom: Pasta – to keep the Italian tradition going.

Me: If you could have any meal (the ultimate meal) what would it be?

Mom: Mexican food is one of my favorites, but don’t have it that often. Also, any good fish or chicken dish with veggies & a really good dessert like chocolate soufflé.

Me: Do you enjoy cooking, or do you do it because you have to?

Mom: I do it because I have to, but enjoy it when I have the extra time to cook and am not rushed.

http://eatjennswords.wordpress.com/

Posted in: Student Posts