Blog Assignment #7: Interview someone who cooks for you

Posted on January 17, 2012

0



For this assignment, you must conduct an informal interview with someone who cooked for you frequently when you were a child. This could be parents, but it could also be a grandparent or other primary caretaker. You can use questions from the list below to get you started, and then see where the conversations takes you. When you finish the interview, there are two ways you can write it up.

1. You can write it up as a narrative, and make sure to put direct quotes in quotations.

2. You can write it up more like a transcript, with a short intro and a paragraph reflection at the end about your experience.

Choose the method that makes you feel more comfortable, but be sure to include some reflection on the experience either way.

Here are the questions below. Enjoy!

  • What did I hate eating when I was younger?
  • Did recipes change with relationships and marriages?
  • How has your relationship with food changed over the years?
  • How did you start cooking—made you want to start?
  • What is your favorite meal to make?
  • What were my manners as a kid?
  • Did you parents cook this well?
  • What did your parents cook?
  • What are your favorite memories of me growing up?
  • Why did you cook more than (other parent)?
  • Do you regret cooking or feeding me anything?
  • Is there a special that reminds you of me?
  • Did you cook for me or for yourself?
  • What foods did you stop cooking once you started a family?
  • What were your goals regarding food for me prior to my birth, and how did they change?
  • What were the trials of cooking for me (what I liked, funny moments, etc.)
  • How would you rate yourself as a cook?
  • Did you have any kitchen disasters?
  • What do you hope I will cook when I have my own family?
  • What’s a memorable food experience?
  • How did family dynamic affect your cooking?
  • Do you wish you made more of something?
  • If you could have any meal (last supper) what would it be?
  • Do you enjoy cooking, or do you do it because you have to?
Posted in: Assignments