I found the Holy Grail, and it’s smothered in onion jam–Alex Kozela

Posted on January 8, 2012

0



It takes a lot for me to remember a specific meal. As much as food equals enjoyment for me, there are very few instanceswhere I can look back and say, “Damn, that was one of the best things I’ve ever had!” Maybe it’s because I just live in the moment, savor the meal in front of me, and then move on to the next one. Another good day, another good burger. And so on. But there are some things you just don’t forget.

I don’t count myself as a member of the boring bread-lettuce-tomato-meat-bread crowd. I flat-out don’t understand those who forgo the lettuce and tomato. Just like life itself, when it comes to food you’ve got to keep things interesting. If not dumbfoundingly awe-inspiring, then at least different. And when I was on a family vacation to the quaint little Pacific Coast Highway town of Cambria, “where the pines meet the sea,” I stumbled across something that was so unique, so refreshingly diverse, that there was no way it would escape from my memory.

The palace where this Holy Grail of sandwiches resided is Indigo Moon, which is more like a Victorian house converted into a wine and cheese shop. But if you’re a smart owner of an establishment like that, you know that a good sandwich that’s got piles of all kinds of awesome on it is going to sell. First of all, it’s got meat in it, a perfectly grilled slice of chicken I might add, which alone beats out the same ol’ Monterey Jack and Cabernet combo that every single wine spot in California is certain tohave. Slathered all over that delicious fowl is homemade caramelized onion jam, a love-at-first-sight marriage of sweet and sour, courtesy of some brown sugar and balsamic vinegar. On top of that is a pleasant pairing of brie and green apple, which go together beautifully on their own, but when added to everything else that’s going on, it’s straight-up celestial. Two healthy slabs of freshly baked focaccia make sure all is good and intact, cementing the fact that, yes, this is one of the most explosively tasty sandwiches you will ever come across.

We took our chosen meals back to our oceanside hotel and ate behind a backdrop of a Central Coast sunset. Yeah, I think it’s safe to say it’ll stick around in my memory for a little while longer.

Posted in: Student Posts