Apple Nut Pancakes–Ashley Hagin

Posted on January 8, 2012

0



My mom has been my main inspiration for cooking. Every night throughout my entire life, she would spend hours in the kitchen making dinner for our family. Sometimes she used a recipe and sometimes she didn’t.

At first, I didn’t share her love of cooking; I didn’t even share her love of food for a while. I was sometimes difficult, complaining that I didn’t like this food or that food. I refused to eat broccoli without cheddar cheese, and I wouldn’t eat asparagus no matter how it was prepared. When I wanted my first mp3 player, she made me earn it by cooking dinners – each dinner was worth $10, and I had to cook my way to the total cost. At the time, I dreaded it. “Oh no, it’s my night to cook again,” I’d think. “Do I really want that mp3 player that badly?”

Once I got to college, though, I realized how much I missed being in her kitchen. And over winter break of my freshman year, we went through Food to Live By, the Earthbound Farm Organic Cookbook by Myra Goodman, and discovered the Apple Nut Pancakes.

We spent the morning coring, peeling, and slicing fuji apples, toasting and chopping walnuts, and whisking our homemade whole wheat pancake mix. Peeling the apples was the hardest part, the thin skin slippery under the blade.
The kitchen smelled like cinnamon, the way it always does around Christmas. It felt warm and cozy, and we bonded over those pancakes.

When we finally sat down to breakfast – my mom, dad and I – we cut into our pancakes unceremoniously, eager to fill our grumbling bellies. With that first bite, the warm, juicy apples burst in your mouth, the slight crunch of them contrasting with the fluffiness of the pancake. It was enough to make me slow down and savor each bite, wishing by the time my plate was scraped clean that there were more.
That meal was more than just apples and flour. It was a moment of bonding between me and my mom, and the birth of my love of baking, a love we both share. Every time I think of those pancakes, I think of home and enjoying a leisurely breakfast with family.

That meal was more than just apples and flour. It was a moment of bonding between me and my mom, and the birth of my love of baking, a love we both share. Every time I think of those pancakes, I think of home and enjoying a leisurely breakfast with family.

You can read more of Ashley Hagin’s posts at her blog: http://haginashley.wordpress.com/

Posted in: Student Posts